The Hewitt Wellington Hotel, is Spring Lake's only Condominium Hotel. It was built in the late 1800's by Smith Hughes of Germantown Pennsylvania. According to the Asbury Park Press dated December 28th, 1876, Mr. Hughes built a "hotel' railway depot, and eight cottages." The cottages were joined together by a breezeway in approximately the early 1950's, to create the current building. The hotel proprietors from 1882 to 1889 were Benjamin and Mary Yard, Georgina Townsend from 1889 to 1909, and then O.H. Wellington from 1913 to 1926. IN the early 1950s the house was purchased by Margaret and Michael Malone, which they operated in Summers only in the 50s. Various rooms throughout the hotel at that time had names such as "The Wicker Room" the "Pink Room", and the "Soda Room", where an old-fashioned ice chest dispensed soda for guests. In 1978 the hotel was purchased Stanton and Davino families jointly, and they ran it for nearly 30 years. It became the Condominium Hotel in 1988.
The Current owners, lovingly keep the home fires burning in this magnificent structure, even though the fireplaces are no longer wood-burning! Some of the original details at the curved porch roof line such as the spindle work frieze, and arched openings in the porch railings are gone, but what remains is a stunning Queen Ann Structure. The distinctions of the Style are seen in the iconic curved southeast facing tower, so familiar and recognizable as a landmark in Spring Lake. Also, the two-story porch at the east entrance, the original graceful curved staircase in the east foyer, and the asymmetric roof line, incorporating hipped roof and tower elements remain. The Gingerbread on the turned porch support columns are typical Queen Anne, and all original. The entry wood panel doors feature beveled glass insets.
The double-hung, multi-pained windows at the south facing facade are original. The exposed-bracket detailing is another decorative feature of the Queen Anne Movement. The square tower on the south side remains, which is where the breezeway connects the originally separate south and east buildings. IN the back of the building still stands the original Carriage house, functioning as a garage now, with rooms above it. The whimsical hipped roof structure still displays beautifully detailed cornice boards, brackets, and lovely windows.
Over the years, the gracious Hewitt Wellington Hotel was host to magical summers full of weddings, business conferences, and modeling shoots. These days you can stop in for an elegant meal at the in-house restaurant, Whispers. The summers are still magical in Spring Lake, and we are fortunate that the Hewitt Wellington is still going strong, and we enjoy it's magic all year long.